Berita

今天是星期六

Hi.

Someone on the Internet convinced me to buy a sketchbook.

He made a good argument that even though we do digital art, sometimes there still is the need to practice with traditional and nothing beats plain ol’ pencil on paper. And there’s a finite number of times you can undo your mistakes, so you tend to be more careful when you draw. Also a sketchbook is just a sketchbook, not a piece of work, so you don’t have the pressure to perform unlike seeing a blank white canvas on a screen.

And I do agree. Because I remember a time when I had a sketchbook and I made an effort to fill up the pages. Doesn’t matter if it looks nice or just doodling. Maybe because I use a drawing tablet, sketching on a program is a bit difficult. And probably the main reason why I do not like lineart is because of how little control I have over my lines. And blank white canvases gives me anxiety.

And flipping through a sketchbook has a different feel than going through a digital gallery.

Anyway, Day 1 of life for moi sketchbook. It only has 20 or so pages. One hour of mechanical pencil on 135gsm paper with lots and lots of reference from pinterest.

Well, we’ll just have to see how motivated I am, haha.

Thanks for viewing.

Leave a comment