Uncategorized

20th Jan 2023

It’s 2023!

It’s been forever and I have been unexpectedly busy – don’t get me wrong, contrary to popular belief, I am lazy but I’m not that lazy that I don’t want to work.

Let’s just say that the internet connection at my house isn’t that good. Yeah, let’s go with that.

Twoset had a concert the other day! For their 4 million subscribers and it was fantastic. Everyone did a great job but I heard there were some controversies and copy strikes and stuff after the event, or something very absurd. Anyway I did fanart for them so there’s that.

And also for his friend. Both of them performed, so it’s only fair.

Then I played video games and drew fanart (again) and stuff. Like Cuno from Disco Elysium.

Disco Elysium is a great game by the way. It’s the greatest game I have ever read – yeeaaa, it plays like a visual novel but not so visual novel-ly. For one, I am impressed with the art direction. If you have the chance, get the Final Cut version where every line is voiced – honestly, the voiceover is one of the greatest thing about the game. Well, actually, everything is great- what’s not good about it is that I think the game is too short but I have no suggestion as to what to pad it to make it longer. It’s unfortunate with what happened to the studio because I really wanted to support more games from them.

Please please please just try and play the game, I’m begging you – you don’t even have to play it, just listen to it, click here and there and just do whatever you want – play it blind. That’s the best way to play it, I swear. Watching a Let’s Play does not do it justice as the story unfolds and people treat you based on your own choices. It’s very confusing at the start, like you don’t even know what’s going on, why you’re here and why you are the way you are – but that’s the point, you’ll see why as you progress through the game and piece the puzzle together. This is one of the few games which actually made me laugh out loud while playing because of how absurd some of the situations are but then within the same hour, you would cry at how sad, cruel and nihilistic the world can be. Other games have comedy – but it’s just comedy where I go ‘heh, yea, okay, that’s kind funny I guess’. The thought cabinet ‘The Precarious World’ is one of those short speeches that you listen to which just strikes something in your heart to just keep moving forward in life, no matter what happens.

In my last post, I spoke about how I’m waiting for my results for my NRMP 2022 Match. And yeah well, I didn’t get a spot. Obviously. And that was it. All that effort, time, money down the drain, and I don’t want to play a game that the chances will just reduce year after year. It’s not cheap either for me to try annually. I was in a massive slump and didn’t feel like doing anything – just living. But after playing this game, I eventually got to come to terms to my failure with hopes that this opens up chances elsewhere.

I also tried drawing food – so there’s that. not very good at it yet – but I’m trying.

Also, I tried to recolour one of my ye olde drawings which I did in the past. At the time, I wanted to colour it many many times, but I didn’t have enough skill. Now I assume I have? Tapi camtu lah – wish I could add in more detail and make it pop up more – but I don’t think there’s anything else that I can do to make it better rather than cluttered and worse. I did put in a lot of effort – that I can assure you.

And finally, Phosphophyllite from houseki no Kuni/Land of the Lustrous – one of my favourite anime that I watched a few years ago and every year- every year– I wish they made a second season. Out of impatience I have read the manga in advance and hooo boyy we in deep deep depression now guys!

Anyway I can’t type anymore because I think the page is lagging with all the images that I uploaded. I actually wanted to talk about AI art etc but I don’t think I can with the lag that I’m experiencing. AI art bad, stop stealing other people’s art, prompting and writing words into a generator is not artistic -etc. Yeah, that’s my argument. But I don’t want to argue now.

Oh, and I also played Signalis. That was fun.

Thanks and have a nice day~

No stealing, by the way.

Leave a comment